Buy Online Various Artists - Rudeboy: The Story of Trojan Records DVD w/CD

Various Artists

Rudeboy: The Story of Trojan Records DVD w/CD

CD/DVD £18.00

Release Date: 08/01/2021

Discs: 2

  Buy CD/DVD only

"LIVELY, GOSSIPY, WARM-HEARTED" - The Hollywood Reporter

“Great fun. A slick 'greatest hits' look back at the Trojan legacy, which leaves you wanting more.”  – Little White Lies

"It’s worth multiple watches to absorb all the history and the joy that these musicians experienced through ska and reggae." - Film Threat

"With the fantastic lineup of reggae artists in this ode to the famous British label Trojan Records, you won’t be able to sit still," - International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam

A film about the love affair between Jamaican and British Youth culture told through the prism of one the most iconic record labels in history, Trojan Records. Combining archive footage, interview and drama, Rudeboy tells the story of Trojan Records by placing it at the heart of a cultural revolution that unfolded in the council estates and dance floors of late 60’s and early 70’s Britain and how that period of immigration and innovation transformed popular music and culture. A loving tribute that reminds us that music has the power to break down cultural barriers and change lives.

Featuring a cast of legendary artists including Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, Toots Hibbert, Ken Boothe, Neville Staple, Marcia Griffiths, Dave Barker, Dandy Livingstone, Lloyd Coxsone, Pauline Black, Derrick Morgan and more.


1. Lover Boy – Derrick Morgan
2. Tougher Than Tough (Rudie In Court) – Derrick Morgan
3. Rudy, A Message To You – Dandy Livingstone
4. 54-46 Was My Number – The Maytals
5. Liquidator – Harry J All Stars
6. Moon Hop – Derrick Morgan
7. Monkey Man – The Maytals
8. Long Shot Kick De Bucket – The Pioneers
9. To Be Young Gifted and Black – Bob & Marcia
10. Double Barrel – Dave & Ansel Collins
11. Israelites – Desmond Dekker & The Aces
12. Everything I Own – Ken Boothe