Buy Online Dandy Livingstone - The Best Of

Dandy Livingstone

The Best Of CD Album

CD £9.99

Release Date: 26/05/2017

Discs: 2

One of the most popular and influential reggae artists of all time, Robert ‘Dandy’ Livingstone Thompson first made making his mark on the UK music scene in the sixties with a series of fine ska and rock steady 45s, most notably ‘Rudy, A Message To You’ and ‘Let’s Do Rock Steady’.

He was later at the forefront of the reggae explosion, cutting a series of popular singles for Trojan Records, including ‘Reggae In Your Jeggae’, the original version of ‘Version Girl’ (later covered by UB40), and the chart hits, ‘Suzanne Beware Of The Devil’, ‘Think About That’ and ‘Big City’.

All of the aforementioned tracks are included on this, the most comprehensive collection of Dandy’s recordings ever to see issue, and with the set also featuring 15 tracks previously unreleased digitally, its popularity will undoubtedly far exceed that of the only previous ‘best of’ set, released some 15 years ago.

The collection comes presented in a stylishly packaged digipack, which inclides an 8 page booklet packed with fascinating imagery and a detailed bio on his career.

1. Suzanne Beware If The Devil
2. Rudy, A Message To You
3. Reggae In Your Jeggae
4. Can't Get Used To Losing You (*)
5. There Is A Mountain
6. What A Life!
7. People Get Ready
8. Version Girl
9. Somewhere My Love (*)
10. Everybody Loves A Winner
11. Take A Message Maria
12. Build Your Love On A Solid Foundation
13. What Do You Want To Make Those Eyes At Me For
14. Salt Of The Earth
15. Come Back Liza
16. Raining In My Heart
17. Trouble In The Town
18. East of Suez
19. Don't Break Your Promise (*)
20. Big City

1. (People Get Ready) Let's Do Rock Steady
2. Think About That
3. Could It Be True (aka You're Jivin' Me) (*)
4. I'm Your Puppet
5. Morning Side Of The Mountain (*)
6. Oh Dear, What Can The Matter Be (*)
7. We Are Still Rude (*)
8. Move Your Mule
9. Doctor Sure Shot
10. Daddy's Home (*)
11. MomaMoma (*)
12. Come Together
13. Propagandist (*)
14. Same Old Fashioned Way
15. Sweet Ride (*)
16. Can't Help From Crying (*)
17. Confidential (*)
18. Jungle Walk
19. Blues Got A Hold On Me(*)
20. Take A Message Ruby (*)

(*) previously unreleased