Buy Online Various Artists - Spirit Of 69 7-Inch Boxset

Various Artists

Spirit Of 69 7-Inch Boxset

7 Inch £35.00

Release Date: 26/05/2017

Discs: 8

Interest in original ‘boss reggae’ music from the late sixties and early seventies has rarely been greater and in response to public demand we present ‘Spirit Of ‘69’: a deluxe 7” singles box set comprising faithful reproductions of eight of the most sought-after 45s in the style.

Compiled and annotated by skinhead authority Michael De Koningh, the collection is presented in a strikingly designed box, with each of the discs mastered from the best available source and pressed on the highest quality vinyl.
All of the records are housed in a card sleeve that replicates those manufactured by Trojan during the original era, while the set also includes a stylish card insert, featuring eye-catching imagery and a fascinating essay on the original ‘boss reggae’ sound and each of the singles.

With original copies of all eight discs in the collection now exchanging hands for three figure sums, ‘Spirit Of 69’ at last provides fans of the boss reggae sound the opportunity to possess some of the finest and rarest 45s of the era without needing to break the bank!

This essential collection will be comprehensively promoted on Trojan’s website, facebook page, twitter, YouTube platforms as well as via the Trojan monthly mailing list, with reviews actively solicited from every appropriate periodical and site.

Single 1:
A. Cuss Cuss - Lloyd Robinson
B. Lavender Blue – Lloyd Robinson

Single 2:
A. Dulcemania – Drumbago & The Dynamites
B. China Man – Clancy Eccles

Single 3:
A. Just Another Lonely Night– Derrick Harriot
B .Been So Long / You Lied to Your Daddy – Derrick Harriot

Single 4:
A. Freedom Sound – Lloyd Charmers (as the Afrotones)
B. Easy Sounds - Lloyd Charmers (as the Afrotones)

Single 5:
A. Ali Baba - John Holt
B. I'm Your Man - John Holt

Single 6:
A. Everybody Bawlin' – Vincent Gordon
B. Come Look Here (aka Girls Exposure) - The Gold Tones

Single 7:
A. If This World Were Mine – Tyrone Evans
B. You Done Me Wrong – Tyrone Evans & The Slickers

Single 8:
A. Apollo 11 – The Hippy Boys (aka The Moon Boys)
B. Love Love Everyday – The Pioneers