Buy Online Various Artists - Reggae Chartbusters Vol. 4

Various Artists

Reggae Chartbusters Vol. 4

CD £7.99

Release Date: 10/08/2009

Discs: 1


Launched by Trojan late in 1969, the ‘Reggae Chartbusters’ album series swiftly became one of the best-selling lines in the company’s catalogue.

Following the simple, but effective formula of highlighting a dozen of the biggest Reggae hits of the preceding months, the LPs provided a showcase for both Trojan and the new style from Jamaica.

Released annually, each of the albums topped the Reggae album charts, even out-selling the much vaunted ‘Tighten Up’ collections, yet surprisingly the series only ran for three years before being brought to a sudden stop in 1972.

Now, some 40 years since the release of the first ‘Reggae Chartbusters’ LP, the seminal line has been revived, the original trio of releases augmented by another three volumes, each of which highlights the most popular Reggae sounds from a specific period.

Volume One brings together a selection of favourites from the late sixties, when the genre was still in its embryonic stage, while subsequent collections trace the music’s development, covering all styles from ‘Skinhead Reggae’ through to the Roots, Dub and Lovers music of the close of the following decade.

Included among the 120 classic tracks on these 6 CDs are over 40 major UK chart hits, with every major Reggae artist from the sixties and seventies featured along the way. Also included are a number of one-hit wonders, such as Horace Faith, the Hot Shots and Blue Haze and who enjoyed a spectacularly brief moment in the spotlight.

Never previously made available on CD, each collection faithfully retains the style of their respective period, with booklets jam-packed with relevant ephemera and fascinating commentaries, written by original Trojan employee, Rob Bell, recalling the label’s early history and the recordings that established it as the world’s greatest Reggae label.


Just why Trojan chose to abandon its hugely popular ‘Reggae Chartbusters’ series after it had enjoyed so much commercial success remains a mystery - certainly the hits were there, as this newly created compilation illustrates. Keeping to the formula established by the original three volumes, this set brings together 20 of the most popular Reggae tracks from 1972/3 period, drawing upon both the Trojan and Creole catalogues as its source. Aside from an array of UK chart hits, the collection also features significant sides by Bob Marley, Dennis Brown, Toots & the Maytals and John Holt.

Disc 1
1. Dandy Livingstone - Suzanne Beware of the Devil 02:35
2. Greyhound - Moon River 03:27
3. The Pioneers - Give and Take 02:21
4. Desmond Dekker - Sing a Little Song 03:01
5. Bob Marley & The Wailers - Lively Up Yourself 02:51
6. Zap Pow - Lottery Spin 03:32
7. Dennis Brown - Money in My Pocket 02:31
8. Joe Higgs - The World Is Upside Down 02:54
9. Sharon Forrester - Silly Wasn't I 02:25
10. Toots & The Maytals - Louie Louie 02:39
11. John Holt - The Further You Look, The Less You See 03:07
12. Dandy Livingstone - Think About That 02:52
13. Greyhound - I Am What I Am 02:44
14. The Pioneers - Time Hard 02:33
15. Desmond Dekker - Mother Nature 03:35
16. Blue Haze - Smoke Gets In Your Eyes 03:15
17. Bruce Ruffin - Mad About You 03:29
18. Judge Dread - Big Seven 03:19
19. Bob Marley & The Wailers - Keep On Moving 03:11
20. Zap Pow - This Is Reggae Music 03:06