Buy Online Desmond Dekker - Israelites: The Best of Desmond Dekker

Desmond Dekker

Israelites: The Best of Desmond Dekker CD Album

CD £9.99

Release Date: 11/02/2008

Discs: 1

Long before Bob Marley's rise to pre-eminence, the title of the world's leading Reggae performer rested firmly with another young singer from Kingston, Jamaica: Desmond Dekker. Between 1967 and 1970, Desmond enjoyed a succession of international hit singles, breaking new ground with records such as ‘0.0.7’, the first Jamaican-produced single to break into the UK top twenty, and ‘Israelites’, the first Reggae single to reach number one spot in Britain and to breach the US chart. During the late sixties and early seventies, further triumphs followed, with major chart hits including ‘It Mek’, ‘Pickney Gal’ and ‘You Can Get It If You Really Want’, all of which ensured his place in history as Jamaica's first superstar.

This, the first in a series of single CD ‘best of’ compilations featuring the most popular artists in the Trojan catalogue brings together 25 of Desmond’s best known recordings from his heyday – including all his UK chart hits from 1967 to 1970. The collection provides an ideal over-view of his career from his earliest Ska sides through to his Reggae classics for his mentor and producer, Leslie Kong. Over all, the release provides the perfect introduction to the man and his music at a price few could resist.


Disc 1
1. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - Israelites 02:36
2. You Can Get It If You Really Want
3. 007 (Shanty Town) 02:34
4. It Mek 02:34
5. Pickney Gal 02:51
6. Honour Your Mother and Father
7. Music Like Dirt 02:42
8. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - Licking Stick 02:15
9. Unity 02:14
10. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - Mount Zion 02:45
11. Live and Learn (The More You Live)
12. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - It Pays 02:58
13. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - Reggae Recipe 03:05
14. Pretty Africa 02:32
15. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - Archie Wah Wah 02:33
16. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - Fu Man Chu 03:14
17. Where Did It Go? The Song We Used To Sing 03:06
18. King of Ska 02:44
19. Sabotage 02:43
20. Hippopotamus 02:49
21. Wise Man 02:06
22. Desmond Dekker & The Aces - Problems 02:45
23. Beautiful and Dangerous 02:49
24. Get Up, Edina 02:41
25. Mother Pepper 02:23